My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned along the way. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

It Can’t Be That Easy

When I tell people the most successful method of weight loss is Eat Less and Move more, their fist reaction is “Oh it can’t be that easy”. Actually yes it is.

Forget the pills, shakes and surgery. Remember the diet industry is a multi-BILLION dollar industry and that (INHO) they simply make money off people desperate to lose weight. What do most of them say? Sometimes you have to look at the fine print on the ads for these products. “Works best in conjunction with diet and exercise”. If you were dieting and exercising, you wouldn’t need the diet product.

Just as an aside, I hate the word diet. Richard Simmons once put it this way: “Diets don’t work. Period. You go on a diet to lose X number of pounds whether 10 or 100. After you do that, you go back to eating the way you used to eat and it all comes back.” You should think of it as a healthy eating plan.

Keep in mind you didn’t put the weight on overnight – it is not going to come off over night. It takes 2 things – work and commitment. This is why every year people make the same old resolutions about going to the gym or losing weight, they soon realize it takes these 2 things – work and commitment – and that’s why on average by March they stop.

Is it easy to watch what you eat? No, especially not at first, but it does get easier. Do I still get tempted? Absolutely! Especially if you are an emotional eater like me. That’s a topic for another day.

Let me give you a few tips that might make this easier.

1. Find some accountability. I found that in my TOPS group, but you can do that with just one other person. It has worked effectively for many support groups – that when you are having a hard time, reach out to those accountability people to help.

2. Become aware. I know, you are thinking well duh, but I mean be aware of a few things like not only what you are eating, but why. Are you really hungry or are you bored, sad, upset or angry?

3. Become a label and menu reader. When you shop, look at those labels. Look for hidden fat, sugar, oil and other things, Read up on things like good oil versus bad oil. When you eat out, read the menus. Many restaurants are now offering nutritional information on their menu items. Some of those so called healthier options aren’t all that healthy.

4. Make use of online tools and apps, or just a plain old notebook. Track what you eat. I have friends who live by the phrase “If you bite it, write it.” I am terrible at writing things down, but I use a tool called My Fitness Pal. You can find it at http://www.myfitnesspal.com. I have it on my computer and my phone. I track my food intake and exercise as well as get encouragement from weight loss friends on the site. Find what works for you.

5. Don’t beat yourself up when you slip because you will slip. You are human and it will happen, but don’t let it drag you down. If you make a bad food choice, don’t say “Well the whole day is shot now” because it isn’t. Get back on track at your next meal.

6. When it comes to workouts, schedule them like any other workout. Make an appointment with yourself. You wouldn’t just “not show up” at any other appointment. There are lots of ways to work out. You can work out at home, at a gym or at your local community centre. You can even use gaming systems to work out. I know that both WII and Xbox games have workout games and believe me some of them will kick you butt!

Keep at it! Don’t become discouraged. Use those accountability friends, read labels and menus, and take advantage of the myriad of online tools and soon you will see those numbers go down.

Leave a Reply

