My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned on this journey. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

One of the hardest things on the weight loss journey sometimes, is to see our own progress. Simply put, we are around ourselves too much to see the difference. There was a great drive-in movie back in the 80’s called Gumball Rally. One of the characters – a crazy Italian driver – gets in his car, snaps off the rear view mirror and says “The first rule of Italian driving – what’s behind you is NOT important.” I am starting to learn SOME of what is behind us IS important.

Let’s face it, a lot of us have had a certain mental image in our heads for a while of how we look, and when we look in the mirror (no matter how much we try to avoid it) we still see that “fat image” in our heads. It is out of this that sometimes eating disorders are born, but that’s not what I am talking about.

I am always shocked when I see someone I haven’t seen in a while and they say Wow you are looking great! I am thinking “Dude you need a new prescription for your glasses”.

Recently however, I had a chance to take a bit of a backwards look. My wife is a scrapbooker and she was going through some old family albums and found an old picture of me from around 1998. It is not a great shot technically but even I could see how far I had come. I had to be around 350 pounds in that shot.

Me in 1998

I was stunned and I suddenly realized – yeah I am making progress.

I had another shock today. Some of my weight loss tools for working out are fitness games for my WII gaming system. I went to use one I really like today – WII Fit Plus but for some reason couldn’t locate the disc so I put in one I haven’t used for a few months called EA Active More Workouts (both of these are excellent by the way) and part of starting the workout is to weigh in. I stepped on the WII balance board scale thingy and it said the last time I weighed in a few months ago I was 291, and today it said I was 246.

It is those little encouragements that really help you to keep going.

If you are on this journey, I encourage you to look back once in a while – check old albums or old pictures of yourself and look at today and say – Hey! I am doing this!

Oh and if you are wondering about an after picture…this was taken last year and I have lost another 20 pounds or so since it was taken.  It is a publicity shot from my work as a ventriloquist.Clarice longDon’t look at far you have yet to go. Look at how far you have come. If you are just starting on this journey, start one step at a time. Start making those healthy choices in your food decisions.

One caution – there will be people who will not “get it”.  Avoid these saboteurs. They will be easily recognized – they will be the ones saying “Oh go ahead and have some more. One piece of cake won’t hurt”. They have a close ally called The Food Police.

Their tactic is just as harmful. “You will never lose weight if you eat that.” or the more subtle “Do you really think you should be eating that.” Avoid them. Cut them out of your life if you need to do so. They do not have your best interests at heart. It is YOUR health we are talking about here.

Start exercising even if it is just a walk around the block. Find some accountability people, some fans who will cheer you on your way. Remember this –  Lapping-people-on-the-couch So that’s it for now. Next time, I will be talking about emotional eating!

Take care and have a happy, healthy day!

Leave a Reply

