My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned along the way. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

Emotional Eating

Before I jump into today’s topic, let me say I will not normally be updating this blog every day, but I wanted to give you some content to read and to know the direction I will be going with it.

So on to today’s topic – Emotional Eating.

emotional-eating2

This has been and continues to be my biggest struggle. Even now, if I have a bad day for whatever reason, I say to my wife that “I want a big bowl of something I shouldn’t have”. The big difference now is that I can say it but don’t have to act on it.

As a kid, I got picked on a lot for being fat. When I would go home upset about it, my mom (bless her well-meaning heart) would say “Oh, you had a bad day? Here, have a cookie.” If I had a great day at school, like a good mark on a test, I would tell my mom and she would say “Oh good for you! Here have a cookie”.

The problem developed that good or bad – emotions made me want to eat, not to mention the vicious circle of the more I ate, the fatter I got, so the more I got picked on, which made me want to eat more and..well you get the idea, and I am sure some of you have been there.

There is a really difficult cycle when it comes to emotional eating that is very hard to break. I found the following illustration online that kind of sums it up.

vicous-cycle

You have a rough day, or some emotional upset, so you eat – probably more than you should. Then you feel shame, guilt and/or remorse for the overeating, so you eat even more, which makes you feel bad and the cycle goes merrily on.

The trick to breaking this cycle is to ask yourself WHY am I eating? Am I really hungry or am I angry, sad, lonely, or bored? Boredom can be an emotion too. Here is a tip – ask yourself Am I hungry enough to eat an Apple or some other healthy thing. If the answer is no, then you really aren’t that hungry.

Acknowledge your feelings. Someone said something mean to you. Talk it out with someone or even with yourself. Let yourself feel the emotion. “Boy I did not like what they said. That was mean.” or whatever.

One thing I do if I am really upset or angry is to do something physical. Last year, my wife bought me a standup punching bag and gloves. I really helps to punch that old bag. I even sometimes visualize the person’s face that I am upset with on the bag. Hey – better to punch a bag than another person and it is better than beating myself up.

I would like to use a recent example of an emotional time for me. This isn’t meant to drum up sympathy but just as an illustration. In November of 2014, my Dad had a massive stroke. My mother called to say things did not look good. Right away there was the temptation to bury my head in the fridge, but I talked it out with my wife.

A few days later my Dad passed away, and again, I wanted a big bowl of something bad, but I held off. The problem was I didn’t really talk that out. I stuffed that emotion down. I didn’t eat, but I didn’t talk. About a week or so later, we were watching an upset of one of my favourite shows NCIS in which one of the characters is seen through out the episode writing a letter to his Dad. Turns out he was actually on his way to his Dad’s funeral and was writing a eulogy. The scene cuts to him reading the last part of the letter to his Dad as he lay in a coffin. When he said Goodbye Dad – I lost it. It all came tumbling out and I thought someone had ripped my heart out of my chest.

Because my wife was there, and I could talk to her about it, and how I felt, it prevented me from going and gorging – which is how I would have handled it in the past.

Remember – there is nothing wrong with emotions. They are a good thing to have unless you are Vulcan. (That was for my fellow Star Trek fans). Just don’t let emotions lead you into that vicious cycle of eating and regretting.

Next time – my thoughts on Fad Diets and those who make money off people’s desperation.

Here is your smile for today. eat a skinny person

Comments on: "Emotional Eating" (6)

  1. Hilda Locke said:

    Thanks Neale for your wonderful advice on emotional eating. I may have not been an overweight child or teen, but I have struggled with my weight since my early 20’s. My problem is eating when I’m bored…especially at night. From now on I will ask myself if what I feel is real hunger. I have a carb problem, and a big sweet tooth too. I too saw that episode of NCIS….he was also saying goodbye to the actor Ralph Waite..it was sad and very real on his part.
    I will continue to read your interesting, and helpful blog.

    Hilda

    Like

  2. Thanks, Neale, for being “real” with us. Appreciate it!

    Like

  3. Hi Neale. I agree with you and understand. My emotional eating is when I am angry or depressed. A few days before Christmas we were told our eldest dog has a tumour in her lung. A few days after Christmas it was thoughts of my husband and Jan 4th was the anniversary of my Dad’s passing. I knew exactly what was wrong with me and that I wasn’t hungry. I was eating the right portions and foods at meals but grazed on chocolate treats throughout the day. I knew and yet I ATE THEM! I sure wish I would make better choices at these times. Not pigging out is the only thing that saves me from a large weight gain. I can live with 2 or 3 pounds but it keeps me from going forward to success.

    Like

Leave a Reply

