My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned on this journey. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

Man pants too big_fullThere is something strange happening in my closet. Every time I pull out an item I haven’t worn in a long time, I make a shocking discovery. Someone has been letting out my clothes, in some cases ridiculously so! Ok so maybe no one is actually letting out my clothes but it sure feels that way.

I can tell that some of these clothes are way too big now because I put them on, walk into our living room and before I can ask my wife “Is this too big on me now?” (Men can be unsure of these things) she bursts out laughing and say “Those look ridiculous! Add them to the donate pile.”

To me that is one of the best perks of this weight loss journey. Let’s face it, men don’t like to have to shop at the best of times, but I love shopping for clothes now. You see I used to just be happy if clothes fit, never mind what they looked like. Now I can go into a shop and find things that fit.

My daughter got married in 2013 and I bought a new tux for the wedding. I am a full time entertainer so I could write it off anyway so ha ha Mr. Taxman. I had a show a little while back that was a bit more formal than my usual shows. I took that tux out of my closet and it was huge on me! I had to go back to the shop where I bought it and get new shirts because they were just too big. I had to adjust the vests I had bought to be much smaller. (I bought a few of them in different colours for my shows). Just out of curiosity I took out another tux I haven’t been able to wear in 10 years and it fits! I now have 2 tuxes I can wear.

Charities are loving me – not only am I donating lots of clothes to thrift stores, but I am buying a whole new wardrobe from them as well. Yes I shop thrift stores – don’t judge me.

Why am I telling you this? Because you have to learn to celebrate the small victories along the way. Don’t wait until you cross the finish line. Celebrate along the way. When I started this journey, I mentioned before that I was over 425 pounds, and my goal was to get to 200 pounds. At the time I started, that almost felt more like a dream than a goal, but now as I get closer to the original goal I set, I am looking at possibly revising that.

According to BMI (Body Mass Index) charts, at 243 (as of today) I am still obese, yet I am down 182 pounds. Should I be upset about STILL being obese? Heck no. I am celebrating the loss! Now according to my goal of 200 pounds, I still have 43 pounds to go but according to the BMI I have nearly 80 pounds to lose. My doctor has told me that there are a lot of factors not taken in on these charts like age and metabolism changes and even the fact I am diabetic. Am I going to go sulk about it? No I am going to work with my doctor and follow his recommendations.

When I get down to the original goal I set, I will have lost 225 pounds! That is nothing to cry about because according to some chart I have more to do. Maybe I will revisit that goal and go all the way but for right now, I am going after a goal that I never thought I would make.

Celebrate your victories. If you start finding your clothes are too big, get rid of them. Don’t allow yourself to grow back into your fat clothes. Donate them somewhere and go buy yourself clothes that look good and that fit. You will be amazed how good you will feel.

I spoke on this before back when I talked about goals and incentives, but remember that our rewards for all our hard work should not be food otherwise we can erase all that hard work. One of the next rewards I want to buy myself when I hit my next mini goal in another 5 pounds is to buy new workout gear. I am wearing some pretty droopy shorts and baggy sweats. I can’t wait to celebrate that victory with new gear.

I have a convention I go to every summer and my goal was to be at my goal weight by the time I head to Kentucky in July, but even if I am not, I am much closer than I was last year. It is not about what I or you have not accomplished. It is all about how much we HAVE accomplished.

I do workouts now that I could never have done even 6 months ago. Even using my WII workout programs, I had to ramp them up from a medium level to advanced. I can walk farther than I could. Am I ready to run a marathon? No, but I could walk a 5km or maybe even a 10km walkathon. Will I ever run a marathon? I doubt that very much, but hey, never say never.how far

My point is simply this – be proud of how far you have come. Don’t worry about the distance yet to go. Even if you have just started on this journey, that first step is more than I lot of people do. A lot of people still find every excuse in the world NOT to start.

When my kids were little, I used to say they had a case of the Yeah Buts. Clean your room! Yeah but I am doing something. Eat your dinner! Yeah but I don’t like this. If you are a parent I bet you have heard these.

Did you know many grown ups have never outgrown that terrible affliction. I should go to the gym. Yeah but it will be crowded. Yeah but it’s too much hassle. I should go for a walk. Yeah but I just finished dinner. Yeah but my favourite show is coming on. I should eat healthier. Yeah but it’s too expensive. Yeah but it’s too much trouble.

Be proud of your accomplishments!  Celebrate those victories along the way!

Until next time, have a healthy and happy day.

Leave a Reply

