My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned on this journey. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

Begone Fat Clothes!

jared1-webI got some pictures from a recent show (for those who don’t know I am a professional motivational speaker and a ventriloquist) and was stunned to realize I looked slightly ridiculous because the clothes were huge. Last night, were getting ready to go out to a show to celebrate my birthday and it was the same story. Almost everything I tried on was huge.

Everything I pulled out of the closet came from another person. A guy who was 185 pounds heavier and didn’t really care what he wore or what it looked like, as long as it fit!

Well this morning, the purge began. Probably over half of my clothes are either being sold or donated. I even had some really nice clothes I had bought for my shows less than a year ago but now I could fit a couple of people in them.

I did discover that I had a tux tucked away in my closet that I hadn’t been able to wear in years. I had to buy a new tux in 2012 when my daughter got married. Well the old tux fits now and the newer one is getting to be too big.

I got to wondering why do we keep clothes like that? The clothes that are commonly referred to as our fat clothes, or clothes that have permanent stains on them. I have come to a conclusion that there are a few reasons.

1. We still have that image in our heads of how we looked “then”. I have a hard time getting my head around the fact I have lost 185 pounds. Of course clothes are going to be too big, but it is a stubborn image to shake. I have avoided looking in mirrors for years so I really didn’t know how I truly looked.

2. Back in the day, we were so happy to have found clothes that even fit when we were larger so we hate to part with them. I found going through the closet I kept clothes that were not only too big, but butt ugly and even some with permanent stains. Why? Because I had been so happy to even find them that I just was reluctant to let them go.

3. Could it be that in the back of our heads, the fat clothes are a back up plan? Sort of a Fat Plan B? You know how that thought process goes. “Well I have failed every other time I have tried to lose weight, so I will probably gain it back again.” That is allowing a failure mindset to set up shop in our heads, and we have to (as Barney Fife would say) nip it in the bud.

4.We don’t think we deserve any better. Again that internal message “It doesn’t matter WHAT I wear. I will look like a slob anyway”. Again, tell that inner voice to shut up. When I was frantically going through my closet last night to get ready to go out, that is EXACTLY the thought I kept hearing over and over. You see, I still struggle daily with those inner voices just like many of you. Losing the weight doesn’t just make them go away. We have to decide to evict them from our heads.

Maybe you have some that are just a little baggy or maybe just a size or two too big. You might keep those to wear when gardening or painting or doing other dirty jobs around the house. You could use them when washing the car or even going hiking.

So what else can you do with them? I have recently discovered on Facebook there are a number of auction or sale groups where you could sell of some of the newer or nicer items and put that money towards a new wardrobe. I used to hate clothes shopping because it was often an exercise in futility but now I am looking forward to adding clothes to my wardrobe that look good and that fit me.

There are also groups where you can just give away stuff. I know how hard it was for me to find clothes that fit back then so I bet there are people out there who would love to take those larger clothes off your hands.

It is said that the explorer Cortes scuttled (sunk) his ships after he discovered the new world so his crew couldn’t go back to the “old country”. We need to be like that. We don’t want to give ourselves the chance to go back to the “old country” of being fat and unhealthy. We want to learn to live and enjoy the new world of healthy living and healthy eating.

After you have gotten rid of the fat clothes, then what? Walk around in boxer shorts. Probably not. I know that would not be a pretty site in my case, no matter how much I have lost.

No, you need to treat yourself and buy some clothes that fit and make you feel good. You have worked hard, made some sacrifices, lost the weight and now it is time to reward yourself.baggy-clothes

Men – I know most of you hate clothes shopping. Heaven knows I did, but now I look forward to it. No more “big guy” stores or having to find that “special section”. No more shirts made by the tent and awning company.

You know what? Another 50 pounds down the road when I make my goal, I will probably have more to get rid of, and I am ok with that!

Until next time, have a healthy and happy day!

Comments on: "Begone Fat Clothes!" (1)

  1. Way to go Neale ! I went through the same thing and it felt really good to have the space in my closet & drawers for clothes that fit “the new me”.

    You might appreciate this related story… I have a winter jacket that fits “the new me” and have been wearing it most of this winter but when it got so dirty that I had to throw it in the wash, I pulled out my old “fat” jacket for a day or two.

    Just putting it on made me feel fat because I looked down and saw how much “extra space” there was around my middle. Needless to say, I did not enjoy that experience. It really made me recognize the importance of clothes that fit.

    The kicker was that I got a blast of cold air every time the wind blew because it came right up under the fat jacket !

    Never going back… moving forward into a healthier and happier life !

    Like

Leave a Reply

