My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned along the way. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

I know a lot of people don’t eat breakfast, or if they do, it is a Grab-Your-Bucks coffee and a donut. Think about breakfast for a minute. It’s very name means break -fast. You have not eaten for hours. Whatever you had as a snack after dinner was it. Now you get up and head off for you r day still without eating.

By the time 10:00 am rolls around, you will be famished and you will eat just about anything, like that box of donuts in the break room. Your good food choices go out the window when you are that hungry. It kind of goes along with why you never grocery shop when you are really hungry.

Breakfast is too much trouble you say. Not true. It just takes a little thought and planning. Something we have started making for ourselves is overnight oatmeal. It is made in little mason jars, so you can just grab it out of the fridge in the morning or if you are really that pressed for time, grab it to go.

Here is the recipe. I got this from the food network website but there are lots out there.overnight oatmeal

Ingredients
3/4 cup nonfat milk
1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
1/3 cup blueberries
1 teaspoon packed light brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
1/8 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3 drops pure almond extract
Kosher salt
1 tablespoon toasted sliced almonds
2 teaspoons honey or agave nectar

The night before, combine the milk, oats, blueberries, brown sugar, lemon zest, vanilla, almond extract and a pinch of salt in a glass pint jar or other container with a lid. Secure the lid and shake. Refrigerate at least 6 hours up to overnight. In the morning, top with the almonds and drizzle with honey. Copyright 2014 Television Food Network, G.P. All rights reserved.

I found another site called The Yummy Life and they had a series of recipes for different fruit combinations and they use yogurt in theirs. http://www.theyummylife.com/Refrigerator_Oatmeal

Here’s another idea – take 1 or 2 eggs, beat them in a bowl with some seasoning. Microwave around 2 minutes and wrap in a whole wheat tortilla. Quick, easy and healthy.

All it takes is a little planning and you won’t miss what is often called the most important meal of the day. I had a dietitian once tell me that most people eat upside down. Now other than a very interesting visual, I wondered what she meant.

She said most people grab a minimal breakfast if any at all. The have a moderate lunch then when they get home from work, have a big dinner and then plop in front of the TV for the evening. She told me we should flip that, and start with a hearty and healthy breakfast, still have a moderate lunch and have a light dinner if we are going to be inactive for the evening.

I heard it put another way – that we should eat like a king at breakfast, a prince at lunch and a pauper at dinner.

I know when I worked in an office environment many years ago, I never liked having a big lunch because all I wanted to do in the afternoon was nap. That was often because I was having the wrong kind of lunch. Like many of you it would be built around fast food or bad food choices from home.

RunningOnEmpty_FeatureBreakfast is supposed to kick start your day and give you the energy to make it through to lunch time. If we miss that, that is like trying to drive a thousand mile trip with 1/4 of a tank of gas – we just aren’t going to make it there.

You should always try to include protein in your breakfast as well. You can have eggs, nut butters or any number of sources. If you are going to have carbs with breakfast, try to combine good carbs with a good protein source.

For example, I love good old fashioned oatmeal. Not the sugar-laden instant stuff but real cooked oatmeal. If I have it “plain” I find by mid morning, I need a snack, but I love to add a teaspoon of natural peanut butter to it. When I do that I find I often don’t need a morning snack. It carries me right through to lunch.

I am not a big fan of drinking your calories, but there are always breakfast smoothies. Throw banana into a blender with some berries and some milk and voila – breakfast. You can add yogurt or peanut butter for some extra protein or use a good quality protein powder.

You will notice I said a smoothie, not a big glass of juice. A lot of juices, both vegetable and fruit, have loads of sugar plus you don’t get the benefit of things like the fibre. Fruit juice is especially a concern for diabetics. I know, I am a type 2 diabetic diagnoses in 2005. Not only is the sugar a concern, but one of the functions of the fibre is to slow the absorption the intake of sugar to the blood stream. With pure juice you can get a sugar spike which is almost always followed by a sugar crash. In other words, you may find you will feel like crawling under your desk for a nap part way through the morning.

The myths about breakfast like it being too much work are just excuses. If you can find time to stand in the line at Grab-Your-Bucks, then you have time to make a breakfast.

I am going to be blunt here. The reason the majority of people don’t eat a good breakfast is that they are plain old lazy. They can’t be bothered. They would rather have that extra 5 minutes sleep than make breakfast.

No more excuses. If you are really too uncoordinated in the morning to make breakfast, make it the night before or at least have things like berries and yogurt available so it would take less than a minute to put it together.

Skipping breakfast is a huge contributor to people’s weight gain. Take some time, do a little research and you will find lots of good breakfast ideas out there.

Oh and I am not talking about microwave “breakfast sandwiches”. Between the lack of good nutrition, and the added fat and salt, you would probably get more nutrition by eating the box.

Until next time, have a healthy and happy day!

Comments on: "Did you eat breakfast this morning?" (2)

  1. I eat muesli almost every morning. I don’t like oatmeal that is left to soak so I make it every morning and add some almond milk and eat it right away. I love the texture much better as it has some chew to it rather than being soggy.

    Here’s my go to breakfast:

    1/3 cup oat flakes – not instant
    1 T hemp seeds
    1 T ground flaxseeds
    1 T pumpkin seeds
    1 T cocoa powder and 1 t of maple syrup OR 1 T raisins
    Add enough almond milk to cover and enjoy…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

