My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned on this journey. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

I posted to some of my social media outlets asking people what they wanted me to talk about, or if they had any questions and I did get a few answers so here we go.

What role does your mindset play in the weight loss journey? Your mindset is critically important. If you sit around thinking that you are going to be deprived or that you can’t do this, you are beaten before you start. You have to be positive, which I will admit is not always easy. You have to visualize why you are doing this. Visualize yourself slimmer and healthier. Picture yourself doing all those things you have wanted to do but couldn’t, or wearing that new outfit because now you can buy clothes that look good, not just being happy they fit.

What changes have you made to your environment? I invested in a good set of measuring cups, spoons, and a food scale. When I first started, these tools were very helpful, and when I find myself slipping back into some bad habits, I get them out again. I also changed the plates I used. I don’t use a full sized dinner plate. I use a bread and butter plate.

The other environmental change was getting the junk food out, particularly the trigger foods. If they aren’t in the house, I won’t be tempted by them.

What other parts of your life have improved such as outlook on life or confidence? I have so much more confidence than I used to have. That sounds funny coming from a performer and speaker but it’s true. I no longer feel I have to get people to laugh WITH me instead of AT me because they aren’t laughing at me anymore. If there are some that still do, I could care less. My outlook on life is so much better as well.

Who are you without the “weight”? What is the weight loss actually about? Richard Simmons once told me Don’t wait until you lose the weight to like yourself because all you will be is a smaller version of the same person.” Without the weight, I am still me, but a much happier me. I recently had some new headshots done. I had originally met this photographer a few years ago and even he said I am not only happier but friendlier than I used to be. The weight loss is about me being healthier and happier, and being here for my family.

Are you able to identify with your new self? What does that new self feel like? My new self feels amazing! I still have trouble identifying with new self because we all have mental images stuck in our heads. I catch a glimpse of myself in a mirror and still sometimes think “Wow, is that me?”  My daughter asked me to go for a walk with her and my grand daughter a while back. The route she picked was one I hadn’t done in a long time. The last time I did it, I had to stop to throw up twice. This time, we reached our destination when it dawned on me I wasn’t even winded, and I wondered “How did that happen?”

What has it taught you? It has taught me that I can do it. For years I just figured I was destined to be fat. It has taught me it is never too late, though I do with I had started on this journey much earlier and with much more passion. It has taught me that there are too many other people out there suffering with this. It has shown me that the gifts God in His mercy has given me of being able to encourage people and make them laugh are not confined to the stage. I can use those gifts to help other. Mostly it has taught me to appreciate life.

I’m curious if you struggle with still seeing the old Neale in the mirror? Simply put, some days yes but every day it is getting better.

How do you over come the negative thoughts about food, etc? I have learned there is no such thing as bad food. I don’t deprive myself. I don’t really get negative thoughts about food like I used to get, but I now get negative thoughts about the food being pushed at us in fast food restaurants and on store shelves. I guess I have redirected my thoughts about food. Food itself is not bad though some are bad choices. Do I want that candy bar knowing how hard I have to work to burn it off? Not so much anymore. I still struggle some days with negative thoughts when the weight isn’t coming off as fast as I would like but then I try not to look at how far I have to go but at how far I have come.

What is at the root of your weight loss, when you peel back your layers? At the very heart of it is the fact I don’t want to die or spend the last years of my life sick. I want to be able to play with my grand daughter. I missed out on a lot with my kids so this is a bit of a second chance. When I peel back the layers, I have learned a lot about myself on this journey. I have learned that the WHY is the biggest question of all.

Why do I make bad food choices? What hole in my life was I trying to fill with food? I have been learning the answers to those questions not only for myself but to be able to share that information with others who are struggling.

Thank you to my readers for their questions. I hope this has been a helpful post to someone today. In the meantime, have a healthy and happy day!

By the way, if you do want to hear more, I will be having a seminar in New Westminster in July called What’s Eating You? For more information, go to https://whatseatingyouseminar.eventbrite.ca

whats eating you

Leave a Reply

