My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned on this journey. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

The number one reason people give upThis phrase came to mind a lot in this third week. I had been doing my workouts at home the first 2 weeks, but was limited by the weights I had at home. I put my pennies aside and went to the gym 3 times in the last week and I discovered a few things.

First of all, I am capable of much more than I thought. I discovered that when I had a much wider range of weights, I could lift much more than  thought.

This applied to the machines but also to the free weights and was very exciting to me. I just had to be careful in my excitement not to push too hard too fast.

That is when you learn about DOMS which stands for Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness. In other words, you won’t hurt at the gym but you are gonna hurt later!

Secondly, when you are surrounded by mirrors, it is hard not to take a look at yourself, and even I could see the progress I have made. When you look at the photos below, you will see what I mean. These were taken in 2010 and 2011. That is my loving wife Bev with me.

She has been my biggest supporter in this whole journey and loved me no matter what.head

2011 b

20072011 a

IMG_6205

And there is a photo taken last year in the vest and tie.

As you can see there has been a difference. I have spoken about this before but it really hit home because it home emotionally as well as physically. The physical differences are obvious but what you can’t see in the pictures are the internal differences.

I now look forward to going to the gym. I love recording what I can do now that I couldn’t do not that long ago. I love feeling a part of the “gym crowd” but also for the first time in a very long time, I feel like I belong there, and I DON’T feel like I am being stared at or being judged.

I am no longer the biggest guy in the gym and that is an amazing feeling.

I have also seen that new feeling translate into my mental attitude in other areas of my life, but especially on social media. Not only do I now try to make all my posts positive and helpful, but I have started eliminating people who fill my feeds with what I call Pity Posts. I don’t have time for that mindset anymore.

As part of the official Body for Life journal, it has you to record not only your food and your exercises but also your goals. It has you record each day what you can do to keep you on track to your goals.

Part of that process is also in asking what you can do for others. This blog is part of that. I hope people can pick up some encouragement here. I hope my readers can see they can do this too.

I have also been sending encouragement messages via email and through other media to folks who might be struggling along the way. It has also given me a new sharper focus on my weight loss coaching.

I have decided that my ideal client is someone who has tried and tried to lose weight and it hasn’t “clicked” but most importantly, I am looking to focus on those looking to lose at least 75 to 100 pounds. These are the folks who have tried it all and see no end to this journey.

I realize there are tons of people out there to help those who are trying to lose a few pounds, but there are still a lot fewer working with the obese or morbidly obese. This is who I have decided I want to help.

Of course if others wanting to lose weight ask me to help, I will be happy to take them on, but I want to focus on those who are now where I have been. I want to help show them they CAN do it.

I am convinced this has come through taking this Body for Life challenge and how it has made me take a sharper look at myself and my journey as well.

And what did you learn this week?

Until next time, have a healthy and happy day!

By the way, if you live in the Vancouver BC area, I just wanted to remind you about my upcoming seminar entitled What’s Eating You? It will be happening July 20th and you can see the details below. You should get your tickets soon as this is a small venue and only holds 100 people.

The biggest thing I will cover that night is the WHY of overeating and how it spills over into the other areas of our life. We will look and why we overeat, why we make bad food choices and how we can make good choices and more!

Sorry if it’s a little blurry. Tickets are available at https://whatseatingyouseminar.eventbrite.ca

I hope to see you there!

whats eating you corrected

Leave a Reply

