My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned along the way. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

finish-lineAs a lot of you know, I have been getting close to my goal. My original goal was to get to 200. I have now revamped this goal and want to get into the 100’s so my new goal is 195!

I also realized that to get to this goal it was time to really shake things up. I decided I needed to join a real gym. Now don’t get me wrong, I made a lot of progress in the community centres. I just felt it was time to really get serious as I see that finish line approaching.

I searched out some local gyms, what they offered, what they cost, how much of a sales pitch I got hit with (I hate sales pitches) but more than all of that – I wanted a gym where I would feel comfortable.

I wanted to be able to look around and see people of all levels and abilities, all shapes and sizes. Well I found that gym and Printlast Saturday officially became a member. I joined Trevor Linden Fitness aka Club 16.

I found the equipment new and working (not the case in a lot of gyms I visited). I found the change rooms were clean and was thrilled to see individual showers. I have had a thing about group showers since high school.

There are staff on hand but they don’t hover. They just let you do your thing, but will help if needed. I haven’t checked out the classes yet but I plan to do so.

Another bonus is that the gym is 5 minutes from my house. No excuses.

What else have I done lately? You may have noticed I haven’t blogged in a couple of weeks because I have been busy. I have taken on a part time job at the Burnaby Hospice Society Thrift Store. They were a perfect fit for me. They accommodate my speaking and performing schedule but also appreciate my background. I used to run a thrift store and my specialty is antiques and collectibles.

I am also planning to put on another seminar. Well technically it would be my first as the last one was cancelled due to massive indifference which led to a lack of ticket sales.

The new one is going to be in February or March. Why then? Because so many set a New Years Resolution to get healthy or fit, and by March it is pretty much tossed to the curb.

The new seminar will be more in the form of a show. It will have ventriloquism and comedy but will have loads of good information. It will be called “What’s So Funny About Fat?” Stay Tuned.

I have also done another clothing purge as I have literally shrunk out of a lot of my clothes. It was such a good feeling on two levels. I was able to get rid of stuff that didn’t fit by donating it to thrift stores so it could help someone else. It is also the coolest feeling to be able to buy clothes that fit and look good.

For far too long, I had to be happy if they fit. Colour or style were just not big factors.

So why am I telling you all this? To tell you that on this weight loss journey, you have to shake things up now and then.

Sometimes it is in your workouts and what they look like. Sometimes it is in simple things like changing up your wardrobe or getting focused on your diet.

Sometimes – and this is the best part – you simply need to take a step back and appreciate how far you have come, and you need to tell yourself “well done.”

When you start doing this, you no longer think “I have so far to go” but you start thinking “I have come so far”. You realize “I can do this” and more importantly, “I WILL do this.”

You realize the struggles have been worth it, and that you can overcome these battles!

dollar menuMore than all of this – you start to become aware. You become aware of how the diet industry takes advantage of people’s desperation. You become aware of all the quick fixes that are flogged to people, while at the same time, we are sold a “Fast food eat it all” culture.

People think it is quicker and cheaper to go through the drive through, but you become aware of the price they will ultimately pay. You become aware of people. You will start watching them in restaurants and at food courts. You will be staggered to see what some people eat, and be equally staggered when some of the same people will come to you and say “You are doing so well. I wish I could lose weight”.

You will see people killing themselves with food they way we used to do. You will want to jump in and say something but please do it with grace and kindness. Remember how it felt when people “pounced” on us?emilysquotes-com-encourage-encouraged-process-commitment-difference-life-change-inspirational-motivational-positive-encouraging-zig-ziglar

Just remember – be aware but don’t be discouraged. Be informed but don’t be ignorant. Always be kind, especially to those
on this difficult journey. They may not always want to hear what you have to say and will have any number of arguments as to why it doesn’t work, but keep on keeping on.

Keep trying to be an example for them of how it CAN be done, but even if no one listens, do this for YOU.

Until next time, have a healthy and happy day!

Comments on: "Well, I finally did it. Actually I have done a few things lately." (2)

  1. Well done Neale! One-derland is in sight. Hoorah! Keep the updates coming.

    Like

  2. Cory Schreyer said:

    You da man. Keep up the good work. Sometimes I miss you. 🌻

    Like

Leave a Reply

