My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned on this journey. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

I did it and I didn’t die!

What was it I did? Well, as you know, I belong to a group for TOPS. For those who don’t. TOPS stands for Taking OffTOPS_logo Pounds Sensibly. It is a weight loss support group. Each year, they have a fundraising walk. It is a way for each chapter in a given area to raise money to carry on the work of their chapter.

Today we had ours. I have done these in the past. For those who know the area, we do the path around Como Lake, in Como Lake Park. It is a 1 km trail. Don’t laugh or judge. Doing 1km for a lot of overweight people is a huge accomplishment.

So what did I do differently? I ran (well I jogged) the 1 km. I had to take a couple of short walk-breaks but I kept going and ran the trail.

Why is this such a big deal? Well when I was – shall we say – a lot heavier, I tried running to catch a bus once and it was much like someone knocked my legs out from under me. I don’t if it was my knees or my hips, but something gave out and I did a full face plant.

I lived with the memory not only of the pain, but the embarrassment, for years and swore I would never run again. In my last blog post I talk about joining a gym, and when I have been doing my cardio, I had been doing short runs, and that’s when it hit me. I was still scared.

That’s when I decided it was time to give it a run. It was not easy. I was still scared of falling but the only way I knew I could do this was to just do it (to coin a phrase).

As I came full circle back to the starting point, I was sweaty, breathing heavily and my heart was pounding, but I was also very proud of myself. I also realized I didn’t fall down and embarrass myself, I didn’t have to be perfect, it was ok to walk when I need to do so, and best of all I DIDN’T DIE!

Then to show what a real masochist I am, I then went off to the gym.

I learn a lot when I go to the gym. I am a great people watcher and the gym is an interesting place to do that. For example I watched a guy today who had a very creative routine.

textingHe went to a machine, did 3 reps, then took out his phone and sent a text or checked his mail. He then moved to the next machine and repeated this new routine.

I know I am not a gym rat. I am not one of those guys who can bench press a Volkswagen, but come on…one set of 3 reps?

As I looked around the gym, I realized he was far from alone in this. I understand using music to motivate when working out, especially with cardio which I find deadly dull.

That being said, I was stunned to see how many people had their texting-in-the-gymphones with them during their workout. My thought was “Can you not even go for a one hour workout without checking your phone?”

I think the phrase that kept coming up in my mind was “FOCUS PEOPLE!”.

When I go to the gym, it is to workout. Not to socialize, not to text or call my friends. That can wait. I am focused on my workout and what I am trying to accomplish.

There is also the interesting trend of groups of people socializing on the gym floor or tying up machines and benches while they chat with friends.

The reason I am sharing these observations is that there is a need for focus in this journey. There are so many things that can take our focus away from our healthy lifestyle including our modern technology.

It is easy to get distracted by the mundane day to day of life and before you know it, we have fallen completely off the healthy path we have worked so hard to stay on. By focusing when doing my workouts, I have started to see progress, like setting the weights higher instead of lower from the last user. I am seeing clothes that I recently bought to replace clothes that were too big, are now also too big.

To paraphrase a popular commercial “Stay focus my friends”

To change channels for a second, I am going to ask a big favour from my readers. If you are a follower of this blog, thank you. The favour? Please spread the word. Blogs live and die by their followers. That is how we bloggers know you want us to continue.

follow meIf you are a casual reader who came here because I mentioned the blog on other social media, please click the follow button and join me on this journey.

Let me know what you would like to know about on my weight loss journey. What challenges are you facing? Maybe I have been there and could provide some ideas for you.

I thank you all for being with me on this journey.

Until next time, have a healthy and happy day!

Comments on: "I did it and I didn’t die!" (2)

  1. Congratulations on your run today. It must have felt so amazing.

    I have a quick comment on the 3 reps deal. There is a lot to be said for varying the number of reps and sets you lift in the gym. I only do 2 or 3 reps when I am lifting very heavy (for me, of course it wouldn’t look heavy to someone else) and this technique helped me greatly to increase my strength and hit some goals. Sometimes I do several sets like this but the time between sets is longer than normal to give more recovery time.

    I certainly get your point about tying up the weights. Socialize all you want but step back and let others work is as you chat.

    Like

  2. This was 3 reps of barely any weight. If it was 3 heavy reps, I wouldn’t have found it so funny.

    Like

Leave a Reply

