My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned on this journey. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

It Takes Time.

change takes timeI had a very unusual experience this morning. I was having breakfast and watching Live with Kelly and Michael (don’t judge me) and one of their guests was Khloe Kardasian. They were talking among other things about her weight loss.

Khloe then said something I have never heard a “celebrity” say. It takes time to lose the weight. She said she lost 40 pounds over a period of three years, and that this whole 30 pounds in 30 days is just not realistic.

I literally shouted YES when I heard that. Why? Because I know what a following she has and that a lot of people follow everything she says and does. Maybe if people hear from a celebrity they admire that weight loss takes time, they will listen.

If people can hear it took Khloe 3 years to lose the weight, then they can realize don’t have to lose all their weight in 30 days. She made a very valid point about the nonsense spouted by quick fix sellers.

Why do I think this is such a big deal? Simple. When I talk to people about weight loss they always say the biggest discouragement is how long it takes. It is the number one reason people give up.

I once heard Richard Simmons say “You didn’t put the weight on overnight, it is not going to come off overnight.” This is so true. I have shared this story before but it is worth sharing it again.

My wife and I were watching the TLC show My 600 Pound Life and there was a man on who was almost 700 pounds. I turned to my wife and made the same judgmental statement a lot of people make – “How did he get to be 700 pounds without noticing there was a problem?” My wife didn’t miss a beat and responded “How did you get to be 425 pounds without noticing.”

Sometimes when I am talking to a potential weight loss client, they will ask me how long I have been on this journey, and I tell them most of my life but I really got serious about 10 years ago, and have a big chunk in the last 5 years.

I can immediately see a look of discouragement on their face. They are hoping I will be yet another quick fix solution, and I am not. results-not-typical

Every time I see a commercial on TV for the quick fix solutions, whether that be shakes or
pre-packaged meals or whatever, you see these amazing results. Next time you see one, however, look at the fine print on the bottom of the screen. “Results not typical”

If the results are not typical, then don’t show us those. Show us those who lose the NORMAL 1 to 2 pounds a week. These amazing results set up unrealistic expectations and further add to feelings of failure when we can’t live up to those standards.

Trust me – the last thing a fat person needs to feel is that they have failed at something else.

I am telling you all this to hopefully encourage you. You may be thinking “but how long will it take?”

I don’t have an answer for you because it is a very individual thing, with a lot of variable factors. So how do you keep going and keep encouraged?

First remember that the scale is not the end all. Lately (and I may have shared this before) I have been having an unusual battle. I know I am losing inches by how my clothes fit and by what people tell me and even by pictures I see of myself.

I am also not seeing the numbers not move much on the scale. Part of this can be a simple plateau but it is also because I am at the gym multiple times a week lifting weights. I am gaining muscle mass so the numbers are not going down as before, and I am OK with that.

There is an old myth that “muscle weighs more than fat”. Wrong. A pound is a pound whether it’s feathers or rocks. The truth is that muscle takes up less space than fat. This is how I can gain muscle mass but appear trimmer so I that’s why I am OK with it.

Secondly, and this is something I never thought I would say, is to use photos taken over time to track progress. If you think you aren’t making progress, pull out photos from when you started losing weight or even before you started.

I am shocked when I see old photos of me and wonder how I never saw the problem. I just let it sneak up on me and kept thinking it wasn’t an issue. Photos don’t lie, but the good side of that is when you can see real progress in newer pictures, they are still being truthful. You are making progress and it shows.

Third, look at what you can do now that you couldn’t before. One gift I got for Christmas was a wonderful workout and food logbook my wife made for me. Granted I gave her the templates and she made if for me from that, but it is still really well put together.

I still kind of suck a food journaling but I am getting better however I record my workouts. What I have been noticing is that I have already been seeing increases by how much weight I am lifting, by how much more effective my workouts are getting and -wait for it- how much progress I am making. It makes me feel so good to see it in black and white.

You have to accept this will take time if you want to do it right. If you think “Well look at the ‘famous weight loss competition show’ and how fast they lose it.” Look up past winners and see how many of them have gained it all back AND more.

When you lose the weight fast, it will come back just as fast. When you stop  doing the shakes and potions, or the weird diets where you only eat this or that, it will come back.

There are three main elements to losing weight (besides the pyschological which is a topic for a whole other blog post).

  1. Portion Control and Healthy Eating
  2. Exercise
  3. You guessed it – TIME.

Don’t be in such a rush to get to your weight loss goal that you miss out on enjoying the progress made along the way.

In the meantime, have a healthy and happy day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

