My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned on this journey. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

Just because

National-Just-Because-Day-708x456Just because…we tend to say that a lot. One version I that I try to hang onto is Just because you can’t do everything, it doesn’t mean you can’t do something.

So what does that mean in terms of my weight loss journey? As I have stated in the past I am a very competitive person and have a bad habit of comparing my experiences with others in my life, my career, and especially at the gym.

So what has “Just Because” taught me? It has taught me a lot of things about myself, and I have found a lot of these “Just Because” statements apply to a lot of people.

Just Because I can’t lift weights like the guy bench pressing a Volkswagen, it doesn’t mean I can’t lift what I can lift. It just means the only person I should be comparing myself to is the person I was the last time I lifted. Can I do 5 pounds more? Maybe 10? Be proud of that.

Just Because I can’t up at 70 miles and hour at a 45 degree angle on the treadmill, doesn’t mean I can do what I can do on the treadmill. I can’t run on the treadmill because of damage I did to my knees and hips from being 425+ pounds. I can do a quick walk, and as I get stronger, I will be able to run one day, even if I can’t do it now.just because

I am already doing things I never thought I would. I never thought I would not only join a gym again, but would also have weights to workout with at home as well as resistance bands that I take when I travel so I can exercise when on the road.

Just Because the guy working out next to me has arms like Schwarzenegger, doesn’t mean I should be ashamed of my progress. I can look in a mirror now (an accomplishment in itself) and see real program and am now at the point that I can see muscle formation.

What about in my diet? Just Because I made some bad food choices, it doesn’t mean my whole healthy eating plan has gone down in flames. It just means I can get back on track right away with my next meal.

Just Because I am up a pound or two this week, it doesn’t mean I will never get to my goal. As most of you know, I belong to TOPS. We weigh in once a week at our meetings and it can be real easy to beat yourself up if there is a gain EVEN if you see clothes fitting better and people commenting on your weight loss.

I know how frustrating it can be – trust me. As I get closer to my goal weight, the losing becomes harder. I am constantly tweaking my food and exercise as my body adjusts to the new weight and exercise levels.

You see how Just Because can turn around negative self talk?

Instead of saying “Why am I at the gym? Look at this guy, he’s never been fat in life, and has never struggled to get in shape!” First off, how do you know that? You don’t know their history.

Turn it around.   Instead say “Just Because I am not a great shape now, doesn’t mean I can’t get in BETTER shape.”

Instead of saying, “This is too hard. I am never going to get to my weight goal.” You need to look in a mirror and see how far you have come.

Turn it around and say “Just Because I am not at my goal now, it doesn’t mean I won’t get there.” We live in such a quick fix society, we consider ourselves a failure if we can’t wave a magic wand and make our extra weight go away.

This is why the diet industry is a multi-BILLION dollar industry. No wonder, when all we hear is “just take this pill” or “use this exercise machine” or “drink this shake” and your pounds will just disappear, that we all jump on that bandwagon.

I heard Richard Simmons say once “You didn’t put the weight on overnight, it is not going to go away overnight.”

I have to reemphasize that healthy weight loss is 1-2 pounds a week. Any program or product that promises more is a scam. Remember what I have said about the fine print on those TV commercials?

You see someone say “I lost 30 pounds in just 6 weeks!”. In teeny tiny print at the bottom is Results Not Typical.

“Just Because” has become such a helpful phrase for me. I am also prone to negative self talk, and this has helped me to curb that habit.

Even wearing my “other hat” as an entertainer, I am learning to say “Just Because I am not as busy as (name of other performer), it doesn’t mean I won’t be soon.” I am learning to not compare myself to other performers careers and focus on what I can do to be better, and you know what? Since I have started doing that, and stopped chasing shows out of desperation, I am busier than ever, and shows are coming to me.

Try using Just Because to turn around your thinking and I bet you will see progress too. There was a movie back in the 80’s called the Cannonball Run. It was a comedy about a cross country road race.

In one scene, a character gets into his sports car, pulls off the rear view mirror and tosses it out of the car. He then says (and this isn’t meant to be racist or whatever) “The first rule of Italian driving – what’s behind you is not important.”

I have found that line to be very profound because we spend so much time looking in the rear view mirror or our life. That can be dangerous. You don’t drive looking in the rear view because that’s not the way you are heading!

“Just Because” you aren’t there yet, it doesn’t mean you won’t be some day.

you-cant-do-everything

Until next time, have a healthy and happy day!

p.s. please don’t forget to tell your friends about my blog. I am here to help and share.

 

 

Leave a Reply

