My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned along the way. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

medications-342462_960_720 One thing that often goes along with being overweight is a lot of medical conditions and along with that, lots of medications.

There is diabetes, heart problems, high blood pressure and all sorts of fun.

I take so many pills that I should sound like a maraca, and that is with the reduction in pills I am taking since losing this weight.

One of my readers asked if I could blog about medications and their effect on weight loss. I am not a doctor or an expert but would like to share with you a few things I have learned.

I was diagnosed diabetic back in 2005, which was no great shock. I was overweight (putting it mildly), was over 40, and had a large family history.  As my doctor tried a variety of pills to get the best results for lowering my blood sugar, I still struggled with my weight. In fact, about 5 years ago when I joined TOPS, my first year was almost a write off as I went up and down the same 2 pounds for a year. I almost quit but the members convinced me to stay and I am sure glad I did – but that’s another story.

My doctor then sent me to an doctor-563428_960_720endocrinologist as he had basically done all he could do. The endo looked my list of medications and immediately said “Oh there’s the problem.” There was a medication I was on (I forget which one as there has been some many changes) that, as he put it, won’t put weight on, but will make taking it off very difficult. He made a medication change and the weight really started coming off.

One of your biggest allies in this journey should be your doctor (or doctors for some of us). You need to be aware of the meds you are on and their side effects. Sometimes you NEED a certain medication and you just have to live with the side effects.

Some years ago, Jerry Lewis suffered a major heart attack and was put on some steroid medication. The next year at the telethon, he had totally ballooned and everyone said “Oh he’s gotten fat”. After he came of the medications, the weight came down as well.

Expert-nametag-badgeNever just quit taking a medication without talking to your doctor, and by the way I do mean doctor. I don’t mean Web-MD or your hairdresser or Dr.Oz or your best friend.

Everyone has recommendations and the internet has made experts out of a lot of armchair quarterbacks.

So what do you do if you think your medications are causing problems with you losing weight? Set up an appointment with your doctor and tell him you want to talk about your medications.

Ask him if any of the medications you are on right now are interfering with your weight loss, either by adding weight or making hard to take off. Ask him if there is another medication you can take instead.

The bitter pill part is that depending on your medical condition, there may not be a substitute. You may have to work harder at your food plan (still hate the word diet) and at your exercise, but it will be a tougher journey.

We have had people drop out of our TOPS group because they were on meds that just made the journey too much of a struggle, but hang in there. This is where you will rely on your support network. You do have one, right?

Talk to them and tell them how you are felling about the struggle. They may have some suggestions, but even if they don’t, it is sometimes just good to get stuff off your chest.

So what is the helpful tip?

This comes in the form of my first product review, and in the spirit of full disclosure, I am getting nothing from them for this. This is my genuine endorsement of a product I love.

SodaStreamMy son and daughter in law bought me an early Father’s Day gift – a Sodastream Machine. Mine is red like the one on the left. Essentially it is a machine that makes carbonated water. It has special reusable bottles. You simply fill with cold water to the fill line, put it on the machine and at the press of a button you have sparkling water to which you can add flavours.

They do also make a whole line of flavours including colas and diet colas but they also have a lot of simple flavourings like cranberry raspberry and many others. They have just announced on their website there is a whole new batch of flavours coming out including some healthier type choices.

I had a serious pop addiction for a long time and was able to go from cola to diet cola and then to sparkling waters. It saves me tons of money in terms of buying sparkling water and time to be able to make my own.

I am also not stuck with a case or large bottle of a particular flavour. I can make a bottle of any flavour at any time, and when I want, I can make a different one.

Sometimes I make the water and just add a little lemon juice for the flavour. We should all be drinking more water. There is truth in the saying that once you feel your thirsty, you are already dehydrated.

I realized that what I missed when I tried to give up pop altogether was the “fizz”. I am not going to get into the debate about carbonated beverages because there are some people that would find health problems with air. Mind you, air these days…sorry that’s another rabbit hole.

Check them out at http://www.sodastream.ca and look at the machines and flavours.

Well that’s all I have for now. Please keep sending me questions and comments so I know what you want me to talk about, and so I know you are out there.

follow meI want to ask another favour. When you see this post published, please don’t just read it, but follow me. Following my blog tells me people really are interested in what I have to say or that they find it helpful.

You can click the follow button or fill in the email box so you will always get my latest post to your mailbox. If you find this blog helpful, please also tell your friends.

Thanks so much.

Until next time, have a healthy and happy day!

 

 

 

Comments on: "One bitter pill but a helpful tip as well." (2)

  1. Sodastreams are available at Walmart here. I bypassed them as something that would just be another sweet that I don’t need. Thanks for suggesting your way of using it. I’m a Diet Pepsi (aspartame free) fanatic, and I know I don’t drink enough water, so this may be a great option for me. Appreciate it Neale. (Eric Y.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

