My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned on this journey. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

Gobble! Gobble! Gobble!

turkey-trotAs I write this, it is Thanksgiving Day in Canada. First let me say I am sorry I have not posted in a while. I have had some health issues and with some other stuff going on, time got away on me, but I am back.

Back to Thanksgiving, I have 2 things I want to talk about today. The first is to ask you a question. What are you thankful for? I have a very long list of things I have to be thankful for. I am thankful for my wife, my kids and their spouses, my grand kids, as well as my friends around the world.fat

I am thankful I found TOPS and the friends I have made through TOPS. I am thankful I am not “that guy” anymore, and I am especially thankful how good I feel now and the progress I have made.

I am thankful that there are folks out there who read this blog (hey – that’s you!) and that I am able to help people on their own weight loss journey.

Wearing my other hat, I am thankful that I have a job that allows me to make people laugh for a living.

Some of you may be uncomfortable with this, but I am thankful for my church, my relationship with Jesus Christ and the freedom I have to worship Him where I want and how I want, because people in many parts of the world don’t have that.

What are you thankful for? It is so easy to find things to find fault with (Sadly I still struggle with that on a daily basis) but not so easy to be thankful. There is an old hymn that says Count Your Blessings. Here is the chorus

Count your blessings, name them one by one,
Count your blessings, see what God has done!
Count your blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord has done.

Whatever your thoughts (or lack of) regarding God, just count your blessing and you will see they far outweigh the bad stuff.

If we get into that habit, it becomes easier to see the good things going on in our lives.

stuffedOn to my second topic today. Read the title of this post again.

Gobble! Gobble! Gobble!

Not only is it Thanksgiving here in Canada, but this also signifies the start of stuff your face season.

There is Thanksgiving (here now and November for my American friends), then Halloween and all that candy, then comes Christmas with all it’s goodies, banquets and parties. We finish up the year (and start it) with New Year’s celebration.

It’s the time of year for excess. Does anyone really need a deep fried turkey? For Thanksgiving dinner, do you need mashed potatoes AND yams AND sweet potatoes AND dinner rolls?

Do you need to try every single baked goody that is brought to the party?

Am I saying not to partake? No I am saying use some restraint. Some people at this time of year seem to be trying to set a record of how much they eat, right down to the tablecloth.

At this time of year, I will even go back to my portion plate if I think I am getting off track. The big secret I have learned is to have a little of most things. Prioritize! What goodies do you really like? Which ones are you kind of “meh” about? Have a little of the things you really like, and leave the “meh” items. Allow yourself SMALL indulgences.portion-control-plate

Remember I mentioned the portion plate I mentioned? These are great. They visually reinforce the idea  that your plate should be 50% vegetables, 25% starch like bread OR potatoes, and 25% protein (meat or meat substitutes).

These plates are available online from a number of sources. I use one because it really helps me. If you can do this mentally, keeping the 50/25/25 idea, good on ya (As my Australian friends would say)

Seasonal parties are a minefield of temptation. You go to the office party or a party at a friends house and it is really easy to throw self-control right out the window.

Here’s a tip for you. Look over the whole buffet before you eat ANYTHING. Pick some carefully chosen items. Load up on your veggies. Skip the dip or at least use a minimum of dips.

Don’t hang out near the buffet table. It is too easy to graze standing there, and what animals are knowing for grazing? Here’s a hint…Moooooooo.

food-pusherI have another tips for you. Watch out for the food pushers. You know, the people who say “Oh it’s a holiday. Go ahead. Go ahead. Have some more.” They will try to convince you Aunt Martha will be crushed if you don’t eat her fudge, or that you personally will be responsible for tons of food wastage. And don’t fall for the starving children in “wherever” line. That was my mom’s favourite.

There is a small phrase that could save your waist line and possible your life. That phrase is “No thank you”. You don’t have to make a big deal about it but when the potatoes come around for the third time, or that big plate of Aunt Martha’s fudge, just say No Thank You and pass it along.

I assume you are all grown ups. That means you are no longer obliged to clean your plate, and please don’t pass that obligation down to the children.

Let children take small amounts. They can always go back for more if they are still hungry.

So those are my two topics for today – take the time to learn to be thankful every day, not just on Thanksgiving Day, and two, you can survive the coming food season.

I want to leave you will a little something to make you smile. Click on this link for a really cute song by a DJ named Bob Rivers and another guy you might recognize. In the meantime, have a healthy and happy holiday season!

 

Comments on: "Gobble! Gobble! Gobble!" (1)

  1. Hey Neale,
    I was on the hunt for weight loss materials today and found this on your website.
    Thank you for this informative article. I will use some of its points to complete a new writing on my fitness blog.
    Again, thank you for this article!

    Like

Leave a Reply

