My name is Neale Bacon. I have lost (so far) 200 pounds with no pills, potions, shakes, short cuts or surgery. Join me for tips and tricks I learned on this journey. There may even be a laugh or two along the way.

As my readers know, I have been on this journey for a long time. I am now approximately 35 pounds away from my goal. The problem right now is I have been 35 pounds away from my goal for a while now, and frankly it is discouraging.oncoming_train

I can see the light at the end of this long tunnel but right now, it feels like that light is an
oncoming train because of not reaching of my goal. This is going to be an honest blog post and probably one of the most difficult to write. After all I am supposed to be the one to motivate you, but if I am going to be honest, we all hit this point in our journeys.

Now I know all the scientific and medical reasons why this happens. As your body or metabolism gets used to your new diet and exercise, it adjusts or resets the thermostat. It becomes harder and takes more work to lose the weight like you did before.

I have told people only half-jokingly that the first 100 pounds is the easiest but it feels true. So what has been the result of my feelings in the last little while?

I kind of gave up lately. I didn’t fall off the deep end and land face first in a bucket of ice cream, but I just haven’t been as diligent with my diet, and have been finding excuses to avoid the exercise.

I have been telling myself that all the walking I do  and all the trips up and down stairs I make at my part time job is enough, I know full well it isn’t.

b-bunnyI have shared in the past that I also suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder which basically means my energy drop dramatically at this time of year. Some days it is an effort to drag my behind out of bed. It can’t be morning. It’s still dark out!

I know others suffer from this too, some more than I do. I have also learned I just have to force myself to get out of bed and get on with the day!

I have to make that appointment with myself to get in that exercise time. This is something I learned a long time ago. Make an appointment with yourself for your exercise time whatever form it takes. If you made an appointment with a friend or for business, you wouldn’t just not show up. You go. I have also discovered that as much as there is grumbling that goes along with it, but after the exercise I always feel better.

As I said in my last post, we are also at the “Most Fattening Time of the Year.” There are so many extra goodies around, but I just have to gear up the discipline to say no, or to allow a small treat. You know I am not one to ban foods. Repeat after me – there are no bad foods.

I have to get my butt in gear (to be blunt) and one way I am going to do that is I am attending the CanFitPro Expo this weekend to get some motivation and information. The CanFitPro event is a weekend event of classes, lectures and workshops for those in the fitness industry. Part of the event though is a Fitness Expo which is free to attend. Free fits my budget. At the expo you can see the latest in fitness equipment, see demonstrations and get to talk to those in the fitness industry.

I went last year, bought some gear for home workouts and got lots of good information. Just as an aside, if you go to an event like this, a good way to know if you are speaking to the right people is the attitude they project to you. I obviously don’t look like an athlete and I have been talked down to at similar events, but at this one people asked me what my goals were, what my limitations are and what I wanted to learn. These are the same times of questions you get from a good trainer.

Anyway, back to my point. I needed to be honest with my readers. I have been struggling. I always do at this time of year, but I also felt I should have reached my goal by now and was down on myself for not doing it.

Where do I go from here? Onward and upward! I am getting back on track with the diet and will be getting back on track with exercise.

I am a person of faith and I have been praying and trusting in God that I will get there. I have a wonderful supportive family and supportive friends. I am especially blessed to have a wonderful wife who gently and sometimes not so gently gives me those nudges I need.

You need to find that support network. If you don’t have it in your friends or family, maybe try a support group like TOPS, or even some online groups. I have made some wonderful friends on Facebook and have joined some wonderfully supportive groups.

I am also making some adjustments to my mental state. I am trying harder every day to be more positive.

We all know there has just been a hugely divisive election in the States and that divisiveness has spilled over the border into Canada. I have decided to start eliminating the negative people on social media. The harder one is that I am not trying to live by these in my posts:

  1. Is it kind?
  2. Is it true?
  3. Is it necessary?

I found a little graphic that I have shared in a few groups. Some people have liked it so much they have printed it out and look at every day. I have even made it the wallpaper on my computer so I see it every day, and I want to leave it with you today.

2017

Until next time, have a healthy and happy day!

Leave a Reply

